• Meningococcal Vaccine

    This vaccine is now required for students in grades 7, 8 and 12. Please call your child's Doctor with any questions.

    Carmel High School

CHS Counseling Department

The mission of the Carmel High School Counseling Department is to support and enhance the academic, college/career, and social/emotional development of each student. All students are assigned a school counselor who will work with them on issues including the transition into high school, personal/social growth, problem solving skills, crisis management, curriculum development, and post-secondary planning. School counselors work in conjunction with the professional learning community collaborating to assist students towards a successful high school experience. The Counseling Department views parents as partners in education and welcomes parent involvement throughout their child’s high school experience.  

Important Announcements

  • IMPORTANT SENIOR MEETING THIS WEDNESDAY, SEPT. 20TH!!!

    Hello Seniors!

     

    Counselors will be meeting with all seniors this Wednesday, September 20th, in Casey Hall

     

    *If you are a morning BOCES Student and are unable to attend your counselor's presentation, the meeting will be 8th period in Casey Hall

     

    It is important that all 12th grade students attend.  Counselors will be going over the college application process.  We will cover necessary information such as the senior year timeline, the Common App, Naviance, recommendations and reporting and sending standardized test scores.  You will also receive your unofficial transcript at this meeting.

    Your teachers are aware that you will not be in class during this period.  We will be taking attendance in Casey Hall.

     

    The presentation schedule is as follows:

     

    Sept. 20th, CASEY HALL

    PERIOD 3: Mrs. Mancini's 12th grade students

    PERIOD 4: Mr. Ruotolo's and Ms. Chu's 12th grade students

    PERIOD 5: Ms. Jaffe's and Ms. Schulman's 12th grade students

    PERIOD 6: Mr. Mahon's and Ms. Powers' 12th grade students

    PERIOD 8: Mr. Feliciotto's 12th grade students and all 12th grade BOCES students  

     

    We look forward to seeing you all on Wednesday!

    CHS Counseling Department
  • Schedule Changes

    Need a schedule change?  You can make a request in many ways.  

    *There will be a schedule change table set up in the lobby near our library the week of August 28th.  You can leave a schedule change form in your counselors basket. 

    **You can e-mail your request to your counselor. 

    *** In person on the following days:    Seniors:  September 5; Juniors:  September 6; Sophomores:  September 7; Freshmen:  September 8

    CHS Counseling Department
  • Important Info for Incoming 10th Graders

    Tenth grade students will transition from their Freshman Counselor, Mrs. Danielle Schulman, to their new counselor who will continue with your student throughout the remainder of their Carmel High School career.

    Tenth Grade Counselor Breakdown:

    ACK - DUAR:       Ms. Heather Jaffe

    DUFF - LOPE:    Mr. Nicholas Ruotolo

    MAC - RAMI:       Mrs. Kristen Mancini

    RAV - ZHE:          Mr. Tim Mahon

    CHS Counseling Department
  • College Representative Visits

    For college admissions counselors to schedule a visit with student's at CHS we have introduced REPVISITS.COM"

    We hope you can find a date & time that fits your busy schedule and look forward to meeting you.  

    CHS Counseling Department

COUNSELING STAFF

Ms. Heather Jaffe, Department Chairperson -- 845 225-8441, ext. 451 - hjaffe@carmelschools.org

Mr. Tom Feliciotto, CHS Alternative High School Counselor  -- 845 225-8441, ext. 416 - tfelicio@carmelschools.org

Ms. Kristen Mancini --  845-225-8441 ext. 442 - kmancini@carmelschools.org

Mr. Tim Mahon -- 845-225-8441 ext. 444 - tmahon@carmelschools.org

Ms. Juliet Powers -- 845-225-8441 ext. 443 - jpowers@carmelschools.org

Mr. Nicholas Ruotolo --  845-225-8441 ext. 418 - nruotolo@carmelschools.org

Ms. Danielle Schulman --  845-225-8441 ext. 440 - dschulma@carmelschools.org

Samantha Chu -- 845-225-8441 ext. 428 - schu@carmelschools.org

Dr. Karin Brenner --  845-225-8441 ext. 446 - kbrenner@carmelschools.org

Ms. Julie Nacerino --  845-225-8441 ext. 445 - jnacerin@carmelschools.org

 

Guidance Office Support Staff

Loretta Burke - ext. 448 - lburke@carmelschools.org

Miriam Liso - ext. 400 - mliso@carmelschools.org